USCHS Students Honored at Awards Night

Upper St. Clair High School recognized and celebrated numerous students with honors, awards and scholarships during the school's annual Awards Night. The event was held on Tuesday, May 16, 2023, in the high school theater.

The following students were recognized:

Academy Appointment: Cole Super – U.S. Air Force Academy

Air Force ROTC Scholarship: Edythe McCurrie DeBlassio Future Educator Scholarship: Olivia Decker Ellie Levine Memorial Award: Yoshna Venkataraman

Global Fluency Certificate: Vanessa Benonis, Matthew Earley, Ava Fazio, Olivia Fulton, Rebecca Kopaz, Ava

Pries, Elisa Tucker, Dakota Worstell and Landon York Joseph L. Moscov Memorial Award: Harley Clawson

Judge Arnoni Leadership in Action Scholarship: Sydney Rozzo Outstanding Senior Athletes: Aidan Besselman and Dani Prunzik

Paul Harris Award - USC-Bethel Park Evening Rotary Club: Anna Makoul

Paul Wildenhain Memorial Scholarship: Lauren Starr

Pride of the Panthers Award: Charles Stohl

Service Above Self USC - Bethel Park, Breakfast Rotary: John Scherer

Sharon Popp Memorial Award: Eunchae Kim

Sivaram & Revathi Krishnan USC Scholarship: Sophia Song

Society of Women Engineers Awards: Senior - Sherry Ren; Junior - Elena Fairfull; Sophomore - Shriya

Narasimhan

South Hills College Club: Lauren Starr

STEAM Innovation Scholarship, established by the Stroyne family: John Scherer

Student of the Year Awards: Senior – Zach Ehasz; Junior – Gabby Deep; Sophomore – Danny Shanholtzer;

Freshman – Kaia Petrick

Superintendent Academic Achievement Award: Eleanor Alford, Katherine Fiori, Jackson Howe, Kayla Lumish, Edythe McCurrie, Lindsay Ross, Sophia Song, Yoshna Ventkataraman

Teresa Fox Memorial Scholarship

• Student Pursuing a Degree in Special Education: Kayla Lumish

• Student Who has Overcome a Learning Challenge: Peer Khan

T.J. White Scholarship: Cody Marn

Thomas Harshman Memorial Scholarship: Josilyn Seftchick

USC Education Association Scholarship: Kayla Lumish

U.S. Marine Corp Award

Distinguished Male: Zach Ehasz

• **Distinguished Female:** Kate Robbins

• Scholastic Excellence: Jasmine Dietiker

• Semper Fildelis Award for Musical Excellence: Rebecca Lang

William A. Pope Scholarship: Charles Stohl

University Book Awards

- Brandeis University Matthew Bordenstein
- Chatham University, Rachel Carson Healthy Planet Noa Shimshi
- Harvard University Alex Sun
- Johns Hopkins University Caroline Murphy
- Princeton University Hunter Maher
- Rensselaer Mahir Parmar
- RIT, Business & Leadership Henry Ginsburg
- RIT, Computing Lucas Bishop
- RIT, Science & Math Boshi Dong
- Saint Michael's College– Isaac Bernstein
- Tulane University Miriam Gutensohn
- University of Pennsylvania Priyasha Itani
- University of Virginia, Jefferson Luke McDonough
- William & Mary, Leadership Maeryn Mannix
- Yale University Brian McFerran